skip to Main Content

Indie Authors Get Ready for Amazon’s 2013 Breakthrough Novel Award

Indie Author Book Prize

Will It Be You?

The sixth annual Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Contest was announced yesterday.

There are a few changes this year.

  • The judging categories have been expanded to include five popular genres: General Fiction, Romance, Mystery/Thriller, Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror and YA, Young Adult Fiction.
  • Entries will be accepted from more countries than ever before.
  • Amazon Publishing has replaced Penguin as the publishing sponsor.

The Amazon Breakthrough Award is one of the favourite prizes of the year for indie authors. That's down to the value of the awards — the weight of Amazon Publishing behind your book with a   $50,000 advance for the Grand Prize winner and four first prizes winning advances of $15,000 — but also because it is open to unpublished and self-published novels and because it remains free to enter — a particularly welcome feature when compared to some prizes for self-published books.

CreateSpace will again host the submission platform. For complete eligibility details, view the Official Contest Rules.

If you want to enter, you need to get cracking. Submission begins on January 14, 2013.

Author: Orna Ross

Orna Ross is a bestselling and award-winning author of historical fiction and inspirational poetry, and a creativity facilitator. As founder-director of the Alliance of Independent Authors, she has been named one of The Bookseller’s Top 100 people in publishing. 


This Post Has One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest advice, news, ratings, tools and trends.

Back To Top
×Close search